Topiwala National Medical College

Approved By:
Accreditated To:
Entrance Accepted
NEET UG, NEET PG Mumbai 1921


Through donations from the Tilak Swaraj Funds, on the 4th of September 1921, the National Medical College was established This College started functioning at the Victoria Cross Lane, Byculla. The founding fathers wanted to train doctors who could serve not only through hospitals but would also reach out to the community. Incidentally, Ayurveda was an obligatory part of the curriculum in our college. As, in those days, even the Universities were controlled by the British the founders affiliated the institution to the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Bombay and the first batch of students was admitted for its Licentiate Medical Practitioner (LMP) course. Much later, Mr. MN Desai, popularly known as Topiwala Desai, made a generous contribution of Rs. 5 lacs to the College – which was then named after him as the Topiwala National Medical College. In 1946, the municipal corporation of the city of Bombay passed a resolution taking over the college and the hospital and acknowledging the high standards of education and the strong support from the Municipal Corporation, the Bombay University also affiliated the twin institutions. Since then without looking back the TN Medical College and BYL Nair Hospital have surged ahead and established themselves as premier institutions of the city. The institution boasts of the oldest Gastroenterology department.  We are also credited with many other firsts – like the Rheumatology and dermatopathology services. is the only college in the city to have a speech and audiology department offering formal training. 


Course & Fee

  • Medical
    • MBBS ( 5.5 years ) NEET UG
      Bachelor Of Medicine Bachelor Of Surgery (MBBS)
      Full Time
    • MD(Doctor of Medicine) ( 3 years ) NEET PG
      Full Time
      Community Medicine
      Full Time
      Full Time
      Full Time
      Forensic Medicine and Toxicology
      Full Time
      General Medicine
      Full Time
      Full Time
      Full Time
    • MS(Master of Surgery) ( 3 years ) NEET PG
      E N T
      Full Time
      General Surgery
      Full Time
      Obstetrics and Gynaecology
      Full Time
      Full Time
      Full Time
  • Physiotherapy
    • BPT (Bachelor of Physiotherapy) ( 4 years )
      Full Time

© 2021 | | All Rights Reserved