Indian Agricultural Research Institute

Approved By:
Accreditated To:
Entrance Accepted
JEE Main, Delhi NCR 1905


The journey of Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), popularly known as Pusa Institute, began in 1905 at Pusa (Bihar) with the generous grant of 30,000 pounds from an American philanthropist, Mr. Henry Phipps. The institute was then known as Agricultural Research Institute (ARI) which functioned with five departments, namely Agriculture, Cattle Breeding, Chemistry, Economic Botany and Mycology. Bacteriology unit was added in 1907.  The name of ARI was changed to the Imperial Institute of Agricultural Research in 1911 and, in 1919 it was renamed as Imperial Agricultural Research Institute. Following a devastating earthquake on 15th January 1934, the institute was shifted to Delhi on 29th July 1936. Post-independence, the institute has been renamed as Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI). During the fifties, the advancement of scientific disciplines constituted the core program of IARI and provided the base for its fast expansion in the 1960s and 1970s. It attained the status of a Deemed University in the year 1958.  The green revolution that brought smiles to millions of Indians bloomed from the fields of IARI with the development of famous wheat varieties which contributed an estimated billion tones of addition production. 


Course & Fee

  • Engineering ( PG )
    • MTech (2 years)
      Mechanical Engineering 12,000
      Full Time
      Computer Science and Engineering 12,000
      Full Time
      Civil Engineering 12,000
      Full Time
  • Sciences ( PG )
  • Agriculture ( UG )
    • Bsc Agriculture (4 years)
      Agricultural Economics
      Full Time
      Full Time
  • Agriculture ( P. hd. )
    • Phd (6 years)
      Biochemistry 14,000
      Full Time
      Microbiology 14,000
      Full Time
      Agricultural Economics 14,000
      Full Time

© 2020 | | All Rights Reserved