25 Institution are now allowed to have Open Distance Programmes


25 universities along with have been allowed to start Open and Distance Learning (ODL) courses from the academic year 2020. The universities granted category I autonomy by the University Grants Commission (UGC) under its graded autonomy scheme last year have been allowed to start the programmes. There are 14 deemed to be universities, 10 state universities and one central university on the list. Among them Bhararti Vidyapeeth and Narsee Monjee are also included in this list.

However, the institutions cannot start or run any professional courses governed by specific Acts of Parliament, except with the prior and specific approval of the regulatory authorities. The UGC circular also states that no institution shall conduct research programmes – M.Phil and Ph.D –through distance education mode.