Follow Us

Follow Us On

Featured Post

UGC Grants 62 Higher Educational Institutions Full Autonomy

Published On 21/03/2018

University Grant Commission (UGC) has granted full autonomy to 62 higher educational institutions, including five central and 21 state universities, which have maintained high academic standards, from across the country.

In Odisha, University Grant Commission (UGC) has accorded full autonomy to Bhubaneswar based Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), SOA University, Utkal University and Cuttack based National Law University.

HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar made this announcement in New Delhi yesterday. He said, out of 62 institutions, five are Central Universities, 21 State Universities, 26 deemed, two Private Universities and eight colleges, which have been granted autonomy under the Autonomous Colleges Regulation.

Javadekar, in a media brief, explained that these universities will remain within the ambit of the UGC but will have the freedom to start new courses, off-campus centers, skill development courses, research parks and any other new academic programs.

The institutions will also have the freedom to hire foreign faculty, enrol foreign students, give incentive based emoluments to the faculty, enter into academic collaborations and run open distance learning programmes, said the Minister.

List of Universities Given Autonomy By UGC

Central Universities

Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi

Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

The English and Foreign Languages University, Telangana

University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad

Aligarh Muslim University , Aligarh

State Universities

Jadavpur University, Jadavpur, Kolkata

Algappa University, Karaikudi

NALSAR University of Law, Telangana

SavitribaiPhule Pune University, Pune

Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

National Law University Delhi, Dwarka

Utkal University, Bhubaneswar

Osmania University, Hyderabad

Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar

University of Jammu, Jammu

University of Mysore, Mysuru

Anna University, Chennai

Punjab University, Chandigarh

Kakatiya University, Warangal

Punjabi University, Patiala

Rajiv Gandhi University of Law, Patiala

National Law University Odisha, Cuttack

University of Madras, Chennai

Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati

Guru Jambheshwar University of Science & Technology, Hisar

Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra

Deemed To Be Universities

Homi Bhabha National Institute Mumbai, Maharashtra

Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha,
Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh

Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (GITAM), Visakhapatnam, AP

Narsee Monjee Institute of Studies, Mumbai, Maharashtra

Sri Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth,  Pune, Maharashtra

Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, Maharashtra

TERI School of Advanced Studies, New Delhi

Jain University, Bangalore, Karnataka

Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar, Odisha

JSS Academy of Higher Education & Research, Mysore, Karnataka

Symbiosis International, Pune, Maharashtra

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Padmashree Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra 

The Indian Law Institute, New Delhi

Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar, Odisha

Vellore Institute of Technology, Vellore, Tamil Nadu

Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA)Thanjavur, TN

ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education and Research, Hyderabad, Telangana

Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, Maharashtra

Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences, Wardha, Maharashtra

Manipal Academy of Higher Education

KLE Academy of Higher Education and Research, Belgaum, Karnataka

Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

Private Universities

O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat, Haryana

Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University, Gandhinagar, Gujarat