Follow Us

Follow Us On

Course Details

CLAT - The Common Law Admission Test

About CLAT:
The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is an all India entrance examination conducted on rotation by 14 National Law Universities (NLUs) for admissions to their under-graduate and post-graduate degree programs (LL.B and LL.M).
The first CLAT Core Committee consisting of Vice-Chancellors of the seven participating NLUs at that time decided that the test shall be conducted by rotation in the order of their establishment.
Accordingly, the first Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) was conducted in 2008.
Now there are 14 participating NLUs.
CLAT is conducted by the consortium of National Law Universities for admissions to the bachelors in law course across India. Please note, admission to Delhi's National Law University is not done on the basis of CLAT but instead on the basis of All India Law Entrance Test, AILET 2018 would be conducted on May 6, 2018, across various centres. For CLAT, there are 19 national law universities that accept the score for a total of 2300+ seats at bachelor's level.

List of National Law Schools that accept CLAT 2018 scores:

  1. National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bangalore
  2. National Academy of Legal Study & Research (NALSAR) University of Law, Hyderabad
  3. National Law Institute University (NLIU), Bhopal
  4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences (WBNUJS), Kolkata
  5. National Law University (NLUJ), Jodhpur
  6. Hidayatullah National Law University (HNLU), Raipur
  7. Gujarat National Law University (GNLU), Gandhinagar
  8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University (RMLNLU), Lucknow
  9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL), Patiala
  10. Chanakya National Law University (CNLU), Patna
  11. National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS), Kochi
  12. National Law University Odisha (NLUO), Cuttack
  13. National University of Study & Research in Law (NUSRL), Ranchi
  14. National Law University & Judicial Academy (NLUJAA), Assam
  15. Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University (DSNLU), Visakhapatnam
  16. The TamilNadu National Law School (TNNLS), Tiruchirappalli
  17. Maharashtra National Law University (MNLU), Mumbai
  18. Maharashtra National Law University (MNLU), Nagpur
  19. Maharashtra National Law University (MNLU), Aurangabad

Apart from these universities, CLAT is also accepted by major Law Schools.

Courses offered by NLUs:

  • B.S.W. LL.B. (Hons.)
  • B.Com. LL.B. (Hons.
  • B.Sc. LL.B. (Hons.)
  • L.L.M.
  • B.A. LL.B. (Hons.)

Eligibility for UG Courses:

  • Interested candidate must have done 12th and the candidates who have given the examination but their result is not out yet, they can also apply for this examination.
  • They must have cleared 12th from a recognized university with minimum 45% marks for general category and 40% for SC/ST category.
  • Candidates should not be more than 20 years as on 1st July 2018. If you belong to SC, ST category then 22 years old candidates can also apply for it.

Eligibility for PG Courses:

  • Interested candidates must have done LLB (5 year Integrated LLB degree) from a recognised with minimum 55% marks for general candidates and 50% marks for ST/SC candidates.

Selection Process: Candidates will be selected on the basis of their performance in the written examination and PI round.

Important Dates: 

  • Date of commencement of submission of online application form along with the order of preferences for NLUs:  1stJanuary, 2018 (Monday)
  • Last date for submission of filled-in online application form along with the order of preferences for NLUs: 31st March, 2018 (Saturday)
  • Commencement of downloading of Admit Cards/Hall Tickets: 20th April, 2018 (Friday)
  • Date of CLAT 2018 online Examination: 13th May, 2018 (Sunday) from 03:00 pm to 05:00 pm
  • Declaration of results, i.e., issue of Merit List (Category-wise): 31st May, 2018 (Thursday)

CLAT 2018 Exam Pattern:

The CLAT 2018 will be conducted in online mode. The medium of the examination will be in English. The examination pattern is different for UG and PG courses.

UG Courses: The question paper will be total of 200 marks. The candidates will get 1 mark for each correct answer and for every wrong answer there is negative marking of 0.25 marks. The duration of examination will be 2 hours.



English including comprehension

40 marks

General knowledge & current affairs

50 marks

Elementary mathematics (numerical ability)

20 marks

Legal aptitude

50 marks

Logical reasoning

40 marks


200 marks

PG Courses: There will be total 150 MCQ type questions with total duration of 2 hours for CLAT 2018 examination. The candidates will get 1 mark for each correct answer and for every wrong answer there is negative marking of 0.25 marks.



Constitutional Law

50 marks


50 marks

Other subjects such as contract, torts, criminal law, international law, IPR etc.

50 marks


150 marks

For detail syllabus click here